Pickering, Saturday 4th September 2010

A Strange Sight In Pickering:

London Bus

Going up Market Place.

They are operating in a place far removed from that for which they were designed. Who can imagine the many twists and turns they go through to be in town today!

Like man himself, they are far from home, still functioning, still making  a useful contribution to society, but not where they belong!

Isaiah chapter 53 and verse 6 describes this:

All we like sheep have gone astray;
We have turned, every one, to his own way;
And the LORD has laid on Him the iniquity of us all.
The New King James Version. 1982 (Is 53:6). Nashville: Thomas Nelson.

I met a number of people who were further from God, than these vehicles were from London. They flock into town for a bit of sight seeing and then back home for the routine of life.

Market Place

Maybe they want to see the trains, or browse the charity shops, even eat in one of the many fine cafeterias.

Diesel Locomotive

You don’t have to speak with them for long to discover that they are indeed lost sheep, far from God and without hope in the world.

Simply ask whether their sins are forgiven and you’ll soon hear them stammer, “I hope so”, “I’m a Catholic”, ” I try my Best”, “No, but God will understand”.

Thankfully, if they come to Pickering on the right day and time, they’ll find the Good Shepherd’s outpost, directing back home.

The Good Shepherd's Outpost

John chapter 10 and verse 14:

I am the good shepherd; and I know My sheep, and am known by My own.

John chapter 10 and verses 27 and 28

My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow Me. And I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; neither shall anyone snatch them out of My hand.
The New King James Version. 1982 (Jn 10:14,27–28). Nashville: Thomas Nelson.

Perhaps its time you recognized how far you are from God and called upon the Good Shepherd to bring you home!

One thought on “Pickering, Saturday 4th September 2010

Comments are closed.