Pickering, 20th June 2009

We found a gap in the rain showers and managed to get out today for just about an hour.

Table set and ready for use.

Table set and ready for use.

It turned out to be so busy today there wasn’t an opportunity to take my picture, but Nick and Vanessa were happy to be involved.

Ready to talk about the Good News.

Ready to talk about the Good News.

They spoke at length with one couple who knew about Christianity as a religion but lacked any understanding of the joy and peace that belongs to those who are trusting Jesus Christ to save them. They also spoke at length with a man about the true and offensive nature of sin.

Explaining the good news.

Explaining the good news.

WERE YOU IN TOWN TODAY?

THE LOCOMOTIVE WAS!

NYMR

NYMR

COMMENT IF YOU CAN SEE YOURSELF BELOW.

The Ropery

The Ropery

Market Place

Market Place

Park Street

Park Street

I spoke with three people in particular, there was the older man who blushed as he said that asking whether ‘his sins were forgiven‘ was too personal a subject for conversation. O that all would understand that on the judgement day God’s ‘books will be opened’ and all unforgiven sin revealed!

I saw the dead, small and great, standing before God, and books were opened. And another book was opened, which is the Book of Life. And the dead were judged according to their works, by the things which were written in the books.

Revelation chapter 20 verse 12

Then there was the young lady with her two children who listened to all I had to say but said very little herself, she went to ‘church’ ocassionally but knew nothing of her need of forgiveness, the heart of the Good News.

Be it known unto you therefore, men and brethren,

that through this man is preached unto you the forgiveness of sins.

Acts chapter 13 verse 38.

Last but not least was the woman from North Wales who knew her need but thought that she needed ‘more faith‘. She was labouring under the delusion that she needed to believe more, and I had the privilege of explaining that forgiveness is based on the object of our faith, Jesus Christ, not the quantity or quality of our faith. The following three verses show that faith is God’s gift and the faith He gives saves.

For by grace you have been saved through faith,

and that not of yourselves; it is the gift of God,

not of works, lest anyone should boast.


For we are His workmanship,

created in Christ Jesus for good works,

which God prepared beforehand

that we should walk in them.

Ephesians chapter 2 verses 8 to 10.

This article from Living Waters explains saving faith, its written by Kirk Cameron

Our Saviour speaks thus, Your faith has saved you, because He knows that it will be understood that faith is only the connecting link with Himself—that He really works the salvation, but that the faith of the Believer is the means of obtaining it.” Charles Spurgeon

I used to be confused about how I was “saved.” Was I saved by a belief I mustered up within my own heart, or was I saved by something God did in the purpose of His own heart? Spurgeon shed more light on this crucial subject of who does the saving, when he said, “…even our repentance needs to be repented of.” The point is that no earthly faith, repentance, good works, or belief that I have ever mustered from what exists in my own natural heart has ever saved me. The Bible is clear: My faith doesn’t save me, Jesus does (Ephesians 2:8-9). A believer’s faith in Jesus is a gift from God. My faith is the connecting channel through which God saved me by His own love and grace. So if you ever wonder if “your faith has saved you,” you may find this question helpful: “Is my trust in my own ability to hold on to Jesus, or is my trust in Jesus’ ability to hold on to me?” If you have received that humble, repentant faith that causes you to love God and trust in Jesus and Lord and Savior, then I would be very confident in echoing Jesus’ words, “Your faith has saved you.” ~ Kirk Cameron

